XSR 700 Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got the book "Why We Ride" by Mark Barnes. Because he has training in psychology, some of the book tries to explain why we take our chances out on the road when so many of our species think we have a few screws loose. Of course we have a commonality, but we are also a diverse group which, if nothing else, shows up in the style of motorcycles we are attracted to. Since I started riding in 1965, I've had just about every style of motorcycle there is and although I've had dirt bikes, cruisers, sport bikes, and adventure bikes, my preference, for the most part has been sport bikes and naked sport bikes although I've had a couple fully fared bikes. Because I've always done my own maintenance, the hassle of removing a bunch of plastic to get to the meat of the situation never sat well with me. I've probably known somewhere in the neighborhood of sixty other riders well enough to call them my friends but there are only three left that still ride. Because my age group is regarded as "old farts" for the most part, health issues has led to a lot of attrition in the ranks. In the earlier days when I was in my twenties and thirties, matrimony, and consequently in many cases, children caused a lot of my friends to drop out of the motorcycle hobby. Personally, I never understood that issue and I guess I've been lucky in that none of my three wives ever objected to my sport or asked me to leave it. My first two wives rode pillion but my present wife of twenty years can't accompany me because of a bad back which is more than likely good for both of us because we get a reprieve from each other when I take off. It somehow makes both of us happy. Someone once said absence makes the heart grow fonder and after I've been gone a few days I think my wife somehow appreciates my presence a bit more. Maybe she's just tired of taking out the trash or feeding the dog. Anyway, I've done a lot of thin