XSR 700 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys!

I'd like some input on when to change tyres!

Currently I have the Phantoms which where on the bike when I bought it, date stamped 4515, so 2015.
It's a 2016 bike which has done 14k miles, last 1k or so have been me.

I can only assume from the above they have been on since new, given their age, and still have c. 3mm of tread.
(Unless they were taken off and put back on again!)

They look OK to me, but I'm by no means an expert on this, picture below (I don't have a closer shot).

Anyways, time to change or leave as is?

Bonus question while you're here! My oil view window looks like this when on a paddock stand, is that too much oil? Was last serviced by a mechanic.

Thank you!!

Attachments

·
Registered
22 Posts
Ohhhhhh. A tire and Oil question in one post. This should be good. :ROFLMAO:

As far as the tires, it depends on were and how they were stored. The answer to your question is a question. What’s is more catastrophic to you, a bill for a fresh set of tires, or the bill of repairs resulting from an unpredictable tire failure. by the way how’s N London these days? If you don’t trust the tires change them.

As far as the oil, owners manual screen capture below. If you’re going to put the bike on a racing stand, to check the oil, use something under the front tire to level the bike out. Depending on the stand, a good ol brick should do the trick. Hope that was helpful.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hahahaha exactly, should get the conversation flowing!
See that’s what I thought! But I’d be surprised if the guy overfilled it! Must admit I didn’t start it first so will do it textbook tomorrow and see!

·
Registered
39 Posts
I would change those tyres right now. But thats just me.
Reason is not age or wear but that the oem phantoms are really bad and dont match the bikes setup.