XSR 700 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, literally just joined up after finding you guys instantly fantastic. I'm pretty New to biking and bought a beautiful brand spanking New XSR700 yesterday. When I got home and did all the usual investigations of what's what and where, I found that the rear brake wasn't operating the brake light. Did a quick search, found you wonderful lot and immediately solved the problem. So a massive thank you there.

I wonder if anyone else has found the rear brake to be a bit on the poor side? A real noobie question but is there a big improvement once they're worn in a bit?

Cheers everybody and thank you for having me here.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Mine is also brand new and also utter **** on a fish to be honest but not many bikes have a decent rear brake. Once the pads bed im sure it will improve a little but thats the rear brakes for ya....useful at very slow speeds in wet conditions really to avoid the front from spilling.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cheers dude. I was starting to feel a bit paranoid. I've just changed up from a Bonnie that had an utterly awesome back brake! Blooming uncomfortable though, couldn't ride for more than half an hour without getting butt and backache.

The XSR is just a stunning ride!! I'll work on wearing in that rear brake then.

Cheers mate and all the best.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Pretty much concur with what Mattswan says. I've mostly always found the rear brakes lacking on a lot of bikes, but as in most cases the majority of braking is on the front, it's never caused me a prob.
A mate of mine has a prosthetic right leg, and hasn't modified his gixxer at all for his disability, so he cant and doesn't use his back brake at all. Seems to get on fine with it and has been doing so for years.

·
Registered
47 Posts