XSR 700 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all-
Just a few words about myself..will take possession of my new Garage silver XSR700 in about a month. Presently in Florida waiting for the snow to melt in NY. I sold off my bike collection last year ,which included a black BMWr1100s, my Honda CX500 café,and six others I restored. Owned /raced a 59 MGA coupe on the vintage circuits here in the US for eleven years. I enjoy model ship/aircraft scratch building, mostly WWI,II, Korea and Vietnam era themes. Anyway ,enough of that . I've been riding since 1968 ,had a bunch of bikes over the years. Turning 70 this June so I suggested to my wife a great birthday present. I've read every forum possible and know this the bike for me. My friend owns a Yamaha dealership so I sat on the 900, but too much bike for me at this stage. I was delighted when he called me with the US 700 arrivals. So it's waiting for me patiently in the showroom. We live in the Adirondacks in northern NY in the summer, so lots of places to ride..not so in Fl...too many crazy people. I'm an avid reader of the forums and hope to learn even more. Owned a lot of Japanese bikes over the years, lots of vintage Yamahas, so no worries. Ahh..did I say a few words?
All the best,
John

·
Super Moderator
743 Posts
Welcome to the forum, John. Not bad for a birthday present - certainly beats socks! You'll enjoy the XSR, without a doubt.

Reactions: Antony Ward

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Tigerjohn

Thanks for the kind words..I think most posters might originate from across the pond..I've spent some good times in the West end of London..Lancaster/ Portobello Road, back in the 70's.. recently visited Coventry/Abingdon..Wild place to be then. Hoping there might be some XSR owners in my area. there are a few -o7 and -09 owners though. I can't leave my bikes alone, so I'll be changing a few things e.g.