XSR 700 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm brand new here and looking forward to learning as much as i can from everyone. Picking up my xsr tomorrow and cant wait. Its a 2020 and already has some mods, notably the akrapovic exhaust which im sure the neighbours will love at 6am.
I would like to add some gators but i have no mechanical experience so does anybody know if this would cost a pretty penny for them to fit for me at the shop or should i just give it a go? Im not completely useless on the tools but as i understand it i would need to lift the front end to remove the forks and im struggling to see how i could safely/comfortably do so without the right equipment.
Thanks in advance for all the advice and look forward to see everyones responses 馃憤馃徎
Tire Wheel Fuel tank Vehicle Automotive lighting

Registered
Welcome :)

I just did the gaiter and folk black-out mod myself. I used a rear-wheel paddock-stand to stabilize the bike and then cargo straps secured from the rafters to lift and hold the front-end while working. While suspended in the air, I had jack stands in two locations under the frame, just in case anything shifted around while the front-end was removed.

It all went quite smoothly. I do recommend a torque wrench to ensure you torque the trees to the stanchions properly. Not sure what a shop would charge you, but I can't imagine they need more than an hour shop-time to do the job proper.

There are some great tips on this very forum on removing the two plastic fork guards prior to installing the gaiters. I used the hair-dryer method and it went smashingly! Not that I would ever re-install them, but they came off so nicely, that they could be.

Good looking bike, by the way!

Super Moderator