XSR 700 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, here in Italy we're having EICMA right now and a lot of nice new things are showing up.
Here's the first english site I found about this new bike from Honda, as far as I can see it's a good way for Honda to put themselves into the scrambler/heritage/howeveryouwannacallit market section, as I can see a lot of resemblances between our XSR 700 and this Honda CL500.
What do you guys think about it?
I find it pretty nice appealing, and -samely as I liked the Benelli Leoncino- I think that's a good emluation of our market-pulling bike :)

·
Registered
771 Posts
Nice bike, still mostly street, but that's fine. A lot of new riders rode Honda CL72s and CL77s as well as CL350s, when I started riding off road. 90% rode them only on the road. Those who took to off roading and liked riding dirt soon went to off road and dual sports, like the Yamaha Enduro series. The CL series was always popular though, high pipes were considered pretty cool.

·
Registered
315 Posts
Meh, it looks mostly like a parts bin bike. New frame, then just what ever they had laying around with very minimal new parts. I'd love to see Honda blow the mid size market out of the water with a new shaft drive bike. Far too many overweight ADV bikes out now that are just going bigger and bigger. The old DL/CX500 bikes were shaft drive and bulletproof.

·
Super Moderator
918 Posts
Hmmm. Welcome to the CL500, aka the Honda Hipster. Doesn't do it for me (never been a hipster, I guess!). I'd have rather seen it emerge from the CB500 platform than the cruiser base. It needs a bigger tank (and what's that strange air gap beneath the front of the tank?), smaller exhaust, twin discs and upside down forks at the front, like the latest CB500 range. Disappointing. But it should keep the hipsters happy, I suppose.

·
Super Moderator
918 Posts
It’s too underpowered and needs more horses.