XSR 700 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, my 2022 XSR700 arrives on Friday so I thought I'd reserve a seat. I've been riding for 51 years so that would make me a "mature" rider, I suppose. I returned to live in Cleethorpes on the Humber estuary after 21 years in Southern California (that was a wrench) to look after my ailing Dad.
Over the more recent years I keep buying the wrong bike! As a teenager my dream bike was a two tone green Kawasaki H1, so I had one refurbished, a beautiful looking H1F, for the unaware the H1 is a 500cc 3 cylinder two stroke with a 2k rpm powerband. "Don't meet your heroes" is an old adage, I now see why. The 70s and 80s two strokes were enormous fun in their day but now they're like a punk rocker turning up in the church choir.

That was my heart purchase, my next mistake (!) was a head purchase; a light bike, lowish seat, fully adjustable suspension - this produced an MT09SP. I only kept that 5 weeks (shudder), for context and balance - I'm a slow rider these days and like exploring country lanes - most definitely not the MT09SP forte.

The next bike (I won't bore you with 51 years of bike selection, don't worry) should have worked. A Z900RS in green/yellow - another beautiful looking bike A slight detour now - my benchmark bike is the SV650, I've owned 3 and my current one is a 2016 AL7 on which I've put 33k miles. The SV cost £5600 in 2016 - an inexpensive bike, I can forgive its poor brakes (which if I could be bothered could be fixed), I can forgive its basic suspension because it's inexpensive. Throttle response, gear selection, handling, the massive engine braking (is why I haven't bothered improving the brakes) - the basic bike functions work very well, it's a great yardstick.