XSR 700 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
'22
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The rear wheel sprays a lot of water and dirt against the rear shock, linkage and engine. And as I found out yesterday, the little "spoiler" that's integrated in the chain guard doesn't do much in keeping the shock clean.😅

This is the result of a 90km autumn ride with a few slightly damp roads. I was kind of surprised by the amount of dirt on the shock after such a short ride.
Tire Wheel Motor vehicle Automotive tire Crankset

What are my options to prevent/minimize this? I was thinking of mounting some sort of rubber mudflap just behind the rear shock. Has anyone tried that?
Would love to hear your opinions and/or experience on this subject :)

·
Registered
71 Posts
I've been riding for 51 years and watched mudguards and weather protection get physically smaller with each passing year on new bikes. I lived in So California for 22 years and didn't care about tiny 'guards, now I'm back in a wet climate in a rural farming area, it's annoying.

You need a hugger. I always look for the biggest one I can find and I have a Powerbronze unit on my Yam and a RedFox on my SV. They do help but they're not perfect. Incidentally the PB hugger won't fit if you have Lusk lowering kit installed.
Vehicle Hood Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive design

Next gripe: fender extenders - I need the option of a bigger one, better still I want the manufacturer to offer the option of much bigger mudguards.

Much to the amusement of the SV forum, I have added the World's Biggest Mudflap™ to my SV.

Tire Wheel Fuel tank Vehicle Automotive parking light

Still, at 34k miles, 6 winters and still showing a polished header, it works. The mudflap is fastened to a fender extender.

·
Super Moderator
918 Posts
Ermax hugger....mine was colour matched to my Forest Green XSR. Not cheap but did the job far better than the pitiful OEM chainguard/hugger.
Wheel Tire Crankset Bicycle tire Automotive tire

·